The Masked Singer SA Season 1 | 2023

The Masked Singer South Africa Season 1 in 2023
The Masked Singer South Africa logo

The Masked Singer South Africa Season 1 premiered on Saturday 3 June 2023 and will end on Saturday 26 August 2023.

Season 1 of the show was confirmed and announced in September of 2022 after Primedia Group secured broadcasting rights for the celebrity competition, ‘The Masked Singer South Africa’, during a ‘Prime-X’ event held in Sandton, Johannesburg.

Season Summary

Host:Mpho Popps
Detectives:Skhumba, Sithelo Shozi, J’Something, and Somizi Mhlongo.
Network:SABC 3, SABC 1
No. of Episodes:13
Premiere dateSaturday 3 June 2023
Finale date:Saturday 26 August 2023

The Masked Singer South Africa airs every Saturday from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on SABC 3, then there is a repeat every Saturday at 8 p.m. on SABC 1, and another repeat every Thursday from 9:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. on SABC 1.

Season 1 has a total of 16 local celebrities wearing 16 Masks, for the first four episodes, 4 new Masks performed on stage for the panel of detectives and viewers at home, with one being unmasked towards the end of the episode.


On Tuesday 4 April 2023, The Masked Singer South Africa detectives were announced as Skhumba, J’Something, Sithelo Shozi, and Idols South Africa judge Somizi Mhlongo.

Guest Detectives

For certain episodes, guest detectives were called in to be part of the detectives’ panel to cover for Somizi Mhlongo who had to also be part of another show, Idols South Africa.

Guest DetectiveEpisodeDate
Boity5Saturday 1 July 2023
Tbo Touch6Saturday 8 July 2023
Moshe Ndiki9Saturday 29 July 2023


The host of The Masked Singer South Africa is South African comedian, Mpho Popps.

The Masked Singer South Africa contestants

TBAElephant – TBA
TBALollipop – TBA
TBARhino – TBA
7thDoughnut – Shekhinah
8thSunflower – Makhadzi
9thRobot – Zozibini Tunzi
10thWatermelon – Devi Sankaree Govender
11thWarrior – Mmusi Maimane
12thHippo – David Kau
13thBanana – Bongani Bingwa
14thSoccerball – Doctor Khumalo
15thRooster – Victor Matfield
16thZebra – Lazy Makoti

Detectives Leaderboard

Sithelo Shozi1
Somizi Mhlongo3


EpisodeAir DateRepeat Date
1Saturday 3 June 2023Thursday 8 June 2023
2Saturday 10 June 2023Thursday 15 June 2023
3Saturday 17 June 2023Thursday 22 June 2023
4Saturday 24 June 2023Thursday 29 June 2023
5Saturday 1 July 2023Thursday 6 July 2023
6Saturday 8 July 2023Thursday 13 July 2023
7Saturday 15 July 2023Thursday 20 July 2023
8Saturday 22 July 2023Thursday 27 July 2023
9Saturday 29 July 2023Thursday 3 August 2023
10Saturday 5 August 2023Thursday 10 August 2023
11Saturday 12 August 2023Thursday 17 August 2023
12Saturday 19 August 2023Thursday 24 August 2023
13Saturday 26 August 2023Thursday 31 August 2023


Australian Idol Season 8

How To Enter Deal or No Deal South Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *